You are here


CMS Releases Individual Medicare Provider Data; ASCRS Will Respond

As we indicated last week, CMS announced they would be releasing individual Medicare provider data this week despite the opposition of ASCRS and the entire medical community. This morning, CMS released the information to the public, including the number and type of Medicare healthcare services that individual physicians and certain other healthcare providers delivered in 2012 and the amount that Medicare paid them for those services. The data release has been covered in all the major newspapers across the country and ophthalmology is prominently featured.

Two Luminaries in Ophthalmology Named Honored Guests at the ASCRS-ASOA Symposium and Congress

Two Luminaries in the Field of Ophthalmology Named Honored Guests at the 2014 Annual ASCRS-ASOA Symposium and Congress in Boston

Two physicians who have made significant contributions to the field of ophthalmology will receive the Honored Guest Award at the 2014 ASCRS-ASOA Annual Symposium and Congress April 25-29, 2013, in Boston.

Voting for 2014 Film Festival People's Choice Award Now Open

For the first time in the 32-year history of the ASCRS Film Festival, the 2014 entries can now be viewed online in advance of the annual ASCRS-ASOA Symposium and Congress. Registered attendees may view and vote on the entries for the 2014 People's Choice Award before the Boston meeting opens. Viewers will need a badge number from the Registration Email Confirmation to gain access to the videos.

ASC/Hospital Outpatient Department Quality Measure 11 (Cataract Outcome – Visual Function Improvement) Delayed Until January 1, 2015

As a result of efforts by ASCRS, the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO), the Outpatient Ophthalmic Surgery Society (OOSS) and the Ambulatory Surgery Center Association (ASCA), Measure ASC-11: Cataracts- Improvement in Patient's Visual Function within 90 Days Following Cataract Surgery (NQF #1536) has been delayed until January 1, 2015.

Iqbal Ike K. Ahmed, MD, Chosen to Receive Medal, Present Prestigious Binkhorst Lecture

Iqbal Ike K. Ahmed, MD,  will be awarded the Binkhorst Medal and will present the prestigious Binkhorst Lecture during the Opening General Session of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery and American Society of Ophthalmic Administrators Annual Symposium and Congress in Boston April 26, 2014.  

Christopher J. Rapuano, MD Named New Cornea Society Incoming President

Christopher J. Rapuano, MD, a nationally and internationally recognized expert in corneal diseases, has been named the new incoming president of the Cornea Society. He begins his two-year term as president on Jan. 1, 2014.

Dr Rapuano, who served as the society’s scientific program chairperson, will replace outgoing president Donald Tan, FRCS, and will be the 20th leader of the society.