You are here

Gholam A. Peyman, MD

  • Presented: 
  • Recognition: 
    ASCRS Ophthalmology Hall of Fame

Gholam A. Peyman, MD, is a professor of ophthalmology and director of the Vitreoretinal Service, Department of Ophthalmology, University of Arizona School of Medicine in Tucson. He is a pioneer in vitreoretinal surgery, intraocular drug delivery, refractive surgery, and the chorioretinal biopsy technique.

In 1971, Dr. Peyman began evaluating the injection of antibiotics into the vitreous for the treatment of endophthalmitis as a new approach to drug delivery. Subsequently, he and his coworkers evaluated the intravitreal toxicity of most antibiotic, antifungal, antiviral, antiproliferative, and immunosuppressive agents, opening the way for new treatment modalities for posterior segment diseases. Dr. Peyman and his associates also studied the eye's tolerance to most vitreous substitutes including infusion fluid, perfluorocarbon gases, fluorosilicone, perfluorocarbon liquids, and silicone gel. He developed the techniques of eye-wall resection in the 1970s and endoresection of intraocular tumors (1985), which often spares the eye from loss of sight and enucleation. He developed a vitrectomy instrument (1971–73), an operating microscope (1974) and stereoscopic assistance scope (1977), the first endolaser probe for retinal surgery (1981), the first 23- gauge vitrectomy instrument (1990), a pneumovitrector (1996), and triamcinolone-assisted vitrectomy (2000).

Dr. Peyman was the first to perform retinochoroidal biopsy (1975) and transplantation of retinal pigment epithelial cells (1989) in the treatment of age-related macular degeneration and is a pioneer in evaluating photodynamic therapy.
Along with Jeff Koziol, MD, he developed the first telescopic intraocular lens (1987 and 2006) for patients with macular diseases. In 1974, Dr. Peyman described the first pressure-controlled valve, known later as the Krupin valve, for glaucoma surgery.

Dr. Peyman has invented many instruments used in vitrectomy procedures: the vitrectomy instrument (1971), a fundus visualization and imaging system (1988–2003), and the latest generation of operative microscope (1979). He has evaluated the laser–tissue interaction of most lasers used in ophthalmology. Among his numerous inventions are the development of a method of modifying refractive error with an excimer laser used beneath a corneal flap (laser in situ keratomileusis), for which he received a patent (1989); the photoablative inlay (2001); and circular lamellar keratomileusis (2005).

Formerly a professor of ophthalmology at the University of Illinois at Chicago, Dr. Peyman held the Prince Abdul Aziz Bin Ahmed Bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud Chair in Retinal Disease at the LSU Eye Center in New Orleans. He was the co-director of the vitreoretinal service and professor of ophthalmology at the Tulane University School of Medicine in New Orleans from 2000 through June 2006. He was awarded the Fisher Prize of the Chicago Ophthalmological Society (1973), the Senior Honor Award of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (1989), the Gertrude Pyron Award (2001), the ASCRS Innovators Award (2001), the Macula Society’s Paul Henkind Award (2004), and the ARVO/Pfizer Ophthalmics Translational Research Award (2005).