Introducing Your 2021–22 ASCRS Leadership | ASCRS

Introducing Your 2021–22 ASCRS Leadership

Introducing Your 2021–22 ASCRS Leadership

Each year there are leadership changes to the ASCRS Executive Committee and Clinical Committees that reinforce the society’s commitment to advancing leadership opportunities. One-year terms on the Executive Committee and regular rotation on Clinical Committees creates an atmosphere where new leadership is fostered and where the changing demographics of the field as a whole are reflected.

“The knowledgeable leaders who, with their breadth of experience, have seen a lot of change in ophthalmology balanced with the welcoming of new ideas, thoughts, and energy is a valuable asset to ASCRS. It’s one of the secrets that has made ASCRS sustainable,” said ASCRS Executive Director Steve Speares. 

With that, ASCRS welcomes Richard Hoffman, MD, as its 2021–22 president. While this and other leadership changes would historically happen at the spring ASCRS Annual Meeting, we look forward to celebrating and acknowledging these accomplishments at the 2021 ASCRS Annual Meeting in Las Vegas, Nevada, in July. Dr. Hoffman is from Eugene, Oregon, where he is in private practice. He has served as a column editor for EyeWorld, the ASCRS member publication; he was chairman of the ASCRS Cataract Clinical Committee; and in addition to serving on the ASCRS Executive Committee, he is a member of the ASCRS Research Council. 

In addition to the newly appointed president, Douglas Rhee, MD, moves into the role of president-elect, Elizabeth Yeu, MD, treasurer, and Vance Thompson, MD, secretary. 

There have been a few changes on ASCRS Clinical Committees as well. Marjan Farid, MD, is now chair of the Cornea Clinical Committee, Cathleen McCabe, MD, chair of the Refractive Surgery Clinical Committee, and Zaina Al-Mohtaseb, MD, chair of the Young Eye Surgeons Clinical Committee.

“Many of these changes reflect the changing face of ophthalmologists,” Mr. Speares said. “For example, ASCRS now has more women in leadership roles than ever before.” 

“ASCRS has been and always will be a meritocracy. It’s solely reliant upon volunteer leaders who give their time and their talent. These are people who are willing to serve as mentors and share some of the pearls of wisdom and success that they have enjoyed. The rise within ASCRS leadership is based on the decisions these ophthalmologists made years ago as they sought to get involved in advancing ophthalmology.” 

As we say hello to some new faces and as familiar faces move into new roles, ASCRS thanks those who have served the society in a leadership capacity and are now rotating out of committee positions, particularly Thomas Samuelson, MD, Nick Mamalis, MD, Francis Mah, MD, and Sumit “Sam” Garg, MD. 

“Those volunteering in leadership roles within ASCRS are a voice for members and a voice for ophthalmology, serving as a conduit among the membership, government, payers, industry, and the public,” Mr. Speares said. “The society thanks all of these volunteers.”

ASCRS members interested in further engagement are encouraged to get involved. From submitting papers and videos or presenting at the ASCRS Annual Meeting (or any of ASCRS’ other meetings) to contributing to EyeWorld articles to volunteering with the ASCRS Foundation and more, there are a multitude of opportunities. 

ASCRS and its leaders are here … for you. 

ASCRS Executive Committee 2021–22

Richard Hoffman, MD – President

Douglas Rhee, MD – Vice President/President-Elect

Elizabeth Yeu, MD – Treasurer

Vance Thompson, MD – Secretary

Terry Kim, MD – Immediate Past President

Nick Mamalis, MD – Past President

Edward Holland, MD – Chair, Program Director

Eric Donnenfeld, MD – Chief Medical Editor, EyeWorld

David Chang, MD – Foundation, International

Kerry Solomon, MD – Foundation, U.S.

Richard Lindstrom, MD – Member at Large


ASCRS Committee Chairs 

John Berdahl, MD –Membership Committee

Zaina Al-Mohtaseb, MD – Young Eye Surgeons Clinical Committee

Leon W. Herndon, MD – Glaucoma Clinical Committee

Marjan Farid, MD – Corneal Clinical Committee

Kevin M. Miller, MD – Cataract Clinical Committee

Cathleen McCabe, MD – Refractive Surgery Clinical Committee

Christina Weng, MD – Retinal Clinical Committee

Parag D. Parekh, MD – Government Relations Committee

Edward J. Holland – ASCRS Hall of Fame Committee

Natalie Afshari, MD, FACS – Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Committee


Cataract Clinical Subcommittee Chairs 

Kendall E. Donaldson, MD – Refractive Cataract Surgery Subcommittee

Jonathan B. Rubenstein, MD – Skills Transfer Subcommittee

Sumitra S. Khandelwal, MD – Challenging/Complicated Cataract Surgery Subcommittee

Robert J. Weinstock, MD – Instrumentation and IOLs Subcommittee

Warren E. Hill, MD – IOL Calculation Subcommittee



We use cookies to measure site performance and improve your experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Legal Notice.