David Chang | ASCRS
About us

Past Presidents

David F. Chang, MD

A graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School, David F. Chang, MD is clinical professor at the University of California, San Francisco. He previously chaired the ASCRS Cataract Clinical Committee and is on the ASCRS executive committee, serving as president in 2012-2013. Dr. Chang is also Chairman of the AAO Cataract Preferred Practice Pattern Committee, immediate past chair of the AAO Practicing Ophthalmologist Curriculum Panel for Cataract/Anterior Segment, and in 2009 completed his 5-year term as chair of the AAO Annual Meeting program committee. He is the chief medical editor of EyeWorld and was previously co-chief medical editor for Cataract and Refractive Surgery Today.

Dr. Chang has received the highest honor for cataract surgery from ASCRS (Binkhorst Medal), the AAO (Kelman Lecture), the Asia Pacific Association of Cataract & Refractive Surgery (Lim Medal), the United Kingdom and Ireland Society of Cataract & Refractive Surgery (Rayner Medal), the Canadian Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (Stein Lecture/Award of Excellence), the Indian Intraocular Implant & Refractive Society (Gold Medal), the Italian Ophthalmological Society (Strampelli Medal), the Royal Australia and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (Gregg Medal), and the Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (Keynote Lecture). In 2006, he became only the third ophthalmologist to ever receive the Charlotte Baer Award honoring the outstanding clinical faculty member at the UCSF Medical School.

We use cookies to measure site performance and improve your experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Legal Notice.