Chang Humanitarian Award | ASCRS
Dr. Lowell Gess in clinic
Foundation News

2020 ASCRS Foundation Chang Humanitarian Award


Nominations for the 4th annual ASCRS Foundation Chang Humanitarian Award will open August 11, 2020. Founded in 2017 with a generous endowment from David & Victoria Chang, this award was created to honor important humanitarian work in the field of cataract blindness and disability, whether domestically or across the globe.

The winner will receive the award at the 2021 ASCRS Annual Meeting, and a $50,000 prize will be granted in their name to an organization of their choice.

Here is what you need to know:

  • You can find more award details and the application online. Nominations will open August 11, 2020 and the deadline for submissions is October 15, 2020 at 5pm ET.
  • Full eligibility criteria are described on the website. Self-nominations are not accepted. 
  • Nominations submitted in prior years will remain active and under consideration for the Nominating Committee for the 2021 award. There is no need to resubmit.
  • The nominating committee will review all eligible applications and select 3-5 finalists for consideration by the ASCRS Foundation Board of Directors who will select the winner.

Help the ASCRS Foundation honor an exceptional humanitarian’s career by submitting your nomination today.

We use cookies to measure site performance and improve your experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Legal Notice.