ASCRS Innovators General Session | ASCRS
2019 ascrs annual meeting

presentations on demand

You must be logged in to view this content

This resource is only available for ASCRS Members. Please log in using the teal "Login" button in the top right-hand corner to log in.

The Innovators General Session is the premiere event to learn about the latest innovations in ophthalmology, with presentations scheduled for some unique and inventive topics. The session ends with the prestigious Charles D. Kelman, MD, Innovator’s Award and Lecture, presented this year by Ronald M. Kurtz, MD.

Since 1985, ASCRS has annually bestowed this honor and medal to an individual whose innovative ideas have benefited ophthalmologists and their patients. Lecturers include some of the world’s most prominent pioneers in ophthalmic surgery. In 2002, ASCRS renamed the Innovator’s Lecture in recognition of Dr. Charles D. Kelman’s lifelong contributions and innovations.
Session Moderator
Edward J. holland, MD
Dr. Holland is the Director of Cornea Services at Cincinnati Eye Institute and Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Cincinnati, and formerly served as the President for ASCRS from 2011-2012. As the Director of Cornea Services at the Cincinnati Eye Institute, Dr. Holland has attracted worldwide referrals for medical and surgical corneal problems and for stem cell transplantation.
Ron M. Kurtz, MD
Ron M. Kurtz, MD is president and chief executive officer of RxSight - a privatelyheld corporation headquartered in Aliso Viejo, California. He joined RxSight in June 2015. Previously, Dr. Kurtz was the General Manager of Alcon LenSx, Inc. Prior to the acquisition of LenSx Lasers, Inc. by Alcon, he co-founded LenSx in 2007, serving as the company’s president and chief executive officer and member of the board of directors, until its acquisition. 

We use cookies to measure site performance and improve your experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Legal Notice.