Resident Excellence Award | ASCRS
Grants & Awards

Resident Excellence Award

About the Award

ASCRS was founded by young, enterprising ophthalmologists and the ASCRS Foundation's Resident Excellence Awards carry on and honor that tradition. The ASCRS Foundation makes ten awards to enable ophthalmology residents exhibiting exemplary performance to attend the ASCRS Annual Meeting. The categories for consideration include research, patient care, leadership and education. Recipients receive a travel grant, four nights accommodation, complimentary meeting registration and invitations to select leadership and social events. 

Resident Excellence Award Winners
2021 Resident Excellence Winners

Sila Bal, MD, MPH
Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, Harvard Medical School

Liane Dallalzadeh, MD
Shiley Eye Institute, UC San Diego

Arjan Hura, MD
Department of Ophthalmology, University of Cincinnati

Tanner Ferguson, MD
Cole Eye Institute, Cleveland Clinic

Jason Kwok, MD
Department of Ophthalmology and Vision Sciences, University of Toronto

David Ramirez, MD
Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics

Kareem Sioufi, MD
Storm Eye Institute, Medical University of South Carolina

Alexa Thibodeau, MD
Kellogg Eye Center, University of Michigan

Priscilla Vu, MD
Casey Eye Institute, Oregon Health and Sciences University 

Xinxin Zhang, MD
Duke Eye Center, Duke University 

2020 Resident Excellence Winners

Kelley Bohm, MD
University of Illinois at Chicago, Illinois Eye & Ear Infirmary

Karine Bojikian, MD, PhD
University of Washington

Allison Chen, MD, MPH
UC San Diego Ophthalmology Residency Program

Giancarlo Garcia, MD
Byers Eye Institute, Stanford University

Mark Goerlitz-Jessen, MD
Duke University

Brent Kramer, MD
UNC Department of Ophthalmology

Tracy Krick, MD
Wilmer Eye Institute, John Hopkins University School of Medicine

Donovan Reed, MD
San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium

Eric Weinlander, MD
University of Michigan Kellogg Eye Center

Caroline Wilson, MD
University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics; Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

2019 Resident Excellence Winners

Katia Chavez, MD
Ohio State University-Havener Eye Institute

Priyanka Chhadva, MD
University of Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary

Martin De la Pressa, MD
University of Minnesota Department of Ophthalmology

Austin Fox, MD
University of Iowa Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

Nathan Lambert, MD
Oregon Health & Science University-Casey Eye Institute

Emily Li, MD
Yale University-Yale New Haven Hospital

Austin Nakatsuka, MD
Northwestern University

Eric Rosenberg, DO, MSE
New York Medical College

Ryan Smith, MD
Stanford University Medical Center

Nandini Venkateswaran, MD
University of Miami-Bascom Palmer Eye Institute

Angela Zhu, MD
John Hopkins Wilmer Eye Institute

2018 Resident Excellence Winners

Jonathan Chou, MD
Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary

Thomas Johnson, MD, PhD
Johns Hopkins Wilmer Eye Institute

Michele Lee, MD
Department of Ophthalmology Stanford University Medical Center

Shawn Lin, MD, MBA
UCLA Stein Eye Institute

Katy Liu, MD, PhD
Duke Eye Center

James Lockwood, MD
Emory University

Jeffrey Ma, MD
Northwestern University

Jacob Rullo, MD, PhD
Queen’s University Ophthalmology

Nakul Shekhawat, MD, MPH
University of Michigan-Kellogg Eye Center

Swarup Swaminathan, MD
Bascom Palmer Eye Institute

2017 Resident Excellence Winners

Tarek Alasil, MD
Yale University

Igor Bussel, MD
University of Pittsburg Medical Center

Daniel Gologorsky, MD
Bascom Palmer Eye Institute

Roman Krivochenister, MD
University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics

Priya Mathews, MD
Columbia University Medical Center

Natasha Nayak, MD
Ichan School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Grace Paley, MD
Washington University School of Medicine

Ramunas Rolius, MD
Penn State Hershey Eye Center

Sally Shing Yee Ong, MD
Duke Eye Center

Edmund Tsui, MD
New York University School of Medicine

Nandini Venkateswaran, MD, 2019 Resident Excellence Award Winner

The ASCRS Annual Meeting is by far my favorite meeting to attend every year and I have actually been attending it since my first year of ophthalmology residency. It is one of the most informative meetings for young eye surgeons. The meeting is filled with enriching lectures, interactive wetlabs, and dynamic roundtable sessions that have enabled me to strengthen my knowledge base and grow as a young clinician and surgeon. Receiving funding to attend the annual meeting through this award was a fantastic opportunity. The meeting also permits young trainees to begin sharing their research and clinical work on the podium by submitting original posters and papers and I have challenged myself to present several papers and posters each year I have attended. Many of the leaders in anterior segment surgery come from around the world to participate in this meeting and attending the meeting is an invaluable opportunity to meet and network with these individuals as well as learn clinical and surgical pearls from them. I would absolutely recommend current residents and/or fellows to apply for this award! Reach out to your program director and express your interest in being nominated.

Resident Excellence Awards Review Committee

David H. Aizuss, MD, FACS

Jessica B. Ciralsky, MD

Michele Lee, MD

Douglas Koch, MD

Sumit Garg, MD

Michael Taravella, MD

We use cookies to measure site performance and improve your experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Legal Notice.