You are here

EHR Meaningful Use

Exclusive Video: CMS’ Chief of Innovation and Chief Medical Officer Patrick Conway, MD Responds to ASCRS Questions Regarding Meaningful Use

Watch the video

Medicare eligible professionals must attest to Meaningful Use in 2016 in order to avoid a 4% penalty in 2018. 

The 2017 the 2017 Hospital Outpatient and Ambulatory Surgery Center Final Rule included several changes to the Meaningful Use program in 2016:

  • Reporting Period: CMS shortened the 2016 Meaningful Use reporting program for all eligible professionals to any continuous 90-day period between January 1, 2016, and December 31, 2016. 
  • New Participants in 2017: New participants who have not successfully demonstrated Meaningful Use would be required to attest to Modified Stage 2 by October 1, 2017. Returning eligible professionals will be reporting through the new Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) program in 2017, and thus are unaffected by this proposal.
  • Significant Hardship Exemption for New Participants transitioning to MIPS: Certain eligible professionals who have (1) not successfully demonstrated Meaningful Use in a prior year, (2) intend to attest to Meaningful Use for an EHR reporting period in 2017, and (3) intend to transition to MIPS and report on measures specified for the advancing care information performance category of MIPS as proposed for 2017, can apply for a significant hardship exception from the 2018 payment adjustment.

 How should I attest?  Go to the CMS website and log in to your registration with your passcode and ID.  For additional assistance, view the Attestation User Guide

If you have additional questions, view the resources below.  

Transition to MIPS

2018, based on 2016 performance, is the last year of the Meaningful Use program. The program will sunset at the end of 2018, and physicians must begin participating in the MIPS Program. The Advancing Care Information category will become the EHR component of MIPS. For full details on the MACRA proposed rule, please visit the ASCRS/ASOA MACRA Implementation Center. 

Modified Stage 2 in 2017

CMS proposed in the Quality Payment Program proposed rule, to allow any physician to report on Modified Stage 2 of Meaningful Use for 2017, even though it is proposed to be the first performance period of MIPS. CMS believes that many physicians and practices still have 2014-certified EHR technology, and without 2015 technology, they are unable to complete Stage 3 requirements or the currently proposed requirements for the Advancing Care Information category of MIPS. Providers with 2015 certified technology can opt to do Modified Stage 2 or Advancing Care Information in 2017, but providers with 2014 technology must do Modified Stage 2. 

Educational Resources