You are here


Submissions Now Being Accepted for the 2019 ASCRS•ASOA Annual Meeting

Get involved and help shape the Annual Meeting program by submitting your instructional courses, scientific films, papers, posters and photos for the 2019 ASCRS•ASOA Annual Meeting, May 3-7 in San Diego, California. The deadline to submit courses, films, papers and posters is Wednesday, October 17. The deadline for photo submissions is Friday, January 11, 2019.

In Major Legislative Win, Congress Passes Legislation that Includes a CR, Two-Year Budget Deal, IPAB Repeal, and ASCRS-Requested Technical Changes to MACRA Law

Early this morning, years of advocacy by ASCRS, the Alliance of Specialty Medicine, and the medical community have paid off in the form of IPAB repeal and much-needed technical changes to MACRA.

Clinical Alert: Intraocular Use of Epinephrine to Maintain Mydriasis during Cataract Surgery

Issued on December 13, 2017, by the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery

A recent alteration in the formulation of epinephrine from one of the more common sources of preservative-free epinephrine has contributed to a shortage or impending shortage of this product for ophthalmologists. In January 2017, PAR Pharmaceutical updated and began shipping the new formulation of epinephrine which in addition to containing 0.457 mg of sodium metabisulfite, will also contain 2.25 mg of tartaric acid per ml.

Kerry D. Solomon, MD, Named 2016 ASCRS President

FAIRFAX, Va. – Jan. 5, 2016 – Kerry D. Solomon, MD, an internationally recognized leader in cataract surgery, LASIK vision correction and dry eye therapy, will assume his role as the 31st president of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) in May 2016. He currently serves as ASCRS vice president and will replace the outgoing president, Robert J. Cionni, MD. Dr. Solomon will deliver the president’s address Saturday, May 7, 2016, during the Opening General Session of the 42nd annual ASCRS•ASOA Symposium & Congress in New Orleans.